Three solar projects planned for Odisha: MNRE Minister

India’s union minister for New and Renewable Energy, R.K Singh has announced that the central Government has given its nod for three solar power parks for the state of Odisha under the Solar Park Scheme. The cumulative capacity of all the three parks is slated to be 340 megawatts (MW).

In a written reply to a question asked in the Rajya Sabha, the minister said that one of the solar parks will be developed in Landeihill village of Ganjam district and the other two solar parks will be floating ones.

A floating solar power project of 200MW has been planned in the Rengali district. The reply did not give details of the other floating park of 100MW. For the imminent solar park in Landeihill village, National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) has already acquired 176 acres of land.

The EPC contractor for its development has also been finalized. In August 2020, NTPC had invited tenders for undertaking works that relates with designing, engineering, procurement, manufacturing, quality assistance, testing, insurance, supply, installation and final commissioning of the solar park.

The minister also said that the Centre has further agreed to a 10MW solar power project to solarize the Konark Temple – a world heritage site – and the town in Kalahandi district. Odisha wants to make Konark Temple and the town to be India’s first zero-emission city by the end of 2022.

Important projects in Odisha

  • In January, NHPC created a joint venture with Green Energy Development Corporation of Odisha Ltd (GEDCOL) for setting up a 500 MW floating solar power project in Odisha.
  • In the same month, Industrial Promotion and Investment Corporation of Odisha Ltd (IPICOL) and Gas Authority of India Ltd (GAIL) signed a memorandum of understanding for cooperation in the areas of green hydrogen, green ammonia and renewable energy (solar / wind) for the production of eco-friendly fuels in Odisha.
  • Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI) is also in the process of installing a 40 MW floating solar power plant at Hirakud Dam Reservoir in Sambalpur district.

The state government of Odisha has come up with Odisha Renewable Energy Policy under which a wide range of incentives are being offered for establishing renewable energy production units.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.